An Interview with Susie Kearley

Susie is a freelance writer and journalist, who works for companies in the UK, US and also internationally. She focuses on feature writing, copy editing, proofreading and ghost writing. Her clients include Time Inc, Immediate Media (BBC Magazines), Bauer Media and Hearst UK. She was kind enough to give her insight into freelancing and the industry.

How did you first get started writing?

I took voluntary redundancy from a marketing role and after a few false starts, decided to become a freelance writer. It was tough getting started, but I persevered and I’m glad I did. I have been freelancing for about four and a half years.
Do you think in today’s industry it is sustainable to be a freelance writer?

Yes, but you need to be very committed.
How important do you think social media is in sourcing freelance work?

It isn’t important at all, instead I approach the people that I want to work for directly.

 

What are your thoughts on freelancing platforms such as Elance and Upwork?

I haven’t used them much because the pay is unclear on many of them, with ranges from very poor to sensible. It strikes me that they want people to work at the low end, and that’s not worth my while. I’m not in this line of work to compete with writers in third world countries. They’re welcome to it.

What would be the one piece of advice you’d offer to a budding writer?

Perseverance is key to success in this industry.

 

Many thanks for Susie for taking the time to speak to me. Her info can be found at www.susiekearley.co.uk

 

Leave a Reply

